Maybe Maybe Marisol Rainey Awareness Tour

This post is in partnership with The Children’s Book Review and HarperCollins Publishers.

Maybe Maybe Marisol Rainey

ABOUT THE BOOK

Maybe Maybe Marisol Rainey

Written by Erin Entrada Kelly

Ages 7-12 | 160 Pages

Publisher: Greenwillow Books | ISBN-13: 978-0062970428

Publisher’s Synopsis: Introducing eight-year-old Marisol Rainey—an irresistible new character from Newbery Medalist and New York Times–bestselling Erin Entrada Kelly!

Marisol Rainey’s mother was born in the Philippines. Marisol’s father works and lives part-time on an oil rig in the Gulf of Mexico. And Marisol, who has a big imagination and likes to name inanimate objects, has a tree in her backyard she calls Peppina . . . but she’s way too scared to climb it. This all makes Marisol the only girl in her small Louisiana town with a mother who was born elsewhere and a father who lives elsewhere (most of the time)—the only girl who’s fearful of adventure and fun.

Will Marisol be able to salvage her summer and have fun with Jada, her best friend? Maybe. Will Marisol figure out how to get annoying Evie Smythe to leave her alone? Maybe. Will Marisol ever get to spend enough real time with her father? Maybe. Will Marisol find the courage to climb Peppina? Maybe.  

Told in short chapters with illustrations by the author on nearly every page, Maybe, Maybe Marisol Rainey is a must-have for early elementary grade readers. Erin Entrada Kelly celebrates the small but mighty Marisol, the joys of friendship, and the triumph of overcoming your fears in this stunning new novel for readers of Kevin Henkes, Meg Medina, Andrew Clements, Sara Pennypacker,  and Kate DiCamillo.

PURCHASE LINKS

https://amzn.to/2Pm1MiG

https://bookshop.org/a/2078/9780062970428

Author, Erin Entrada Kelly

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

New York Times–bestselling author Erin Entrada Kelly was awarded the Newbery Medal for Hello, Universe and a Newbery Honor for We Dream of Space. She grew up in Lake Charles, Louisiana, and now lives in Delaware. She is a professor of children’s literature in the graduate fiction and publishing programs at Rosemont College, where she earned her MFA, and is on the faculty at Hamline University. Her short fiction has been nominated for the Philippines Free Press Literary Award for Short Fiction and the Pushcart Prize. Erin Entrada Kelly’s debut novel, Blackbird Fly, was a Kirkus Best Book, a School Library Journal Best Book, an ALSC Notable Book, and an Asian/Pacific American Literature Honor Book. She is also the author of The Land of Forgotten Girls, winner of the Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature; You Go First, a Spring 2018 Indie Next Pick; Lalani of the Distant Sea, an Indie Next Pick; and Maybe Maybe Marisol Rainey, which she also illustrated. The author’s mother was the first in her family to immigrate to the United States from the Philippines, and she now lives in Cebu.

My Review

Have you ever been afraid? Young Marisol Rainey was accused of being afraid of her own shadow. Marisol was shy and sensitive and often afraid of trying new things. She liked riding her bike but didn’t want to try swimming or climbing trees. Her backyard was home to a large tree with great limbs for climbing. But, she was afraid to climb the tree she named Peppina.

Marisol and her best friend Jada loved to play every day. They lived in a hot climate in their hometown in Louisiana. They both had a vivid imagination and played pretend very well. They gave names to everything and enjoyed speaking foreign words to be secretive. Marisol loved to sit and stare and think. She sometimes thought of all the clever answers she could give when Evie would brag about herself. When things didn’t go so well Marisol liked to surround herself with her cat and stuffed animals.

Jada was a great friend to Marisol because she accepted Marisol just the way she was. Jada told her that she could tell her anything and she wouldn’t mind. When Jada discovered a bird’s nest high up in Peppina, Marisol was upset that she was to scared to climb and see it. She went to bed and had a pity party. But, what would happen the next day? Would Marisol finally climb the tree or would she give up, as usual?

Maybe Maybe Marisol Rainey is a delightful read designed for second and third grade readers. It shows healthy family and friend relationships. This charming book will have children wanting to read more from Marisol and her adventures with Jada and her family.

TOUR SCHEDULE

Monday, April 26, 2021The Children’s Book Review
Monday, April 26, 2021The Children’s Book Review
Tuesday, April 27, 2021Glass of Wine, Glass of Milk
Tuesday, April 27, 2021Some the Wiser
Wednesday, April 28, 2021Lisa’s Reading
Thursday, April 29, 2021Library Lady’s Kid Lit
Friday, April 30, 2021Life Is What It’s Called
Saturday, May 1, 2021Feminist Books for Kids
Sunday, May 2, 2021Barbara Ann Mojica’s Blog
Monday, May 3, 2021Satisfaction for Insatiable Readers
Tuesday, May 4, 2021Crafty Moms Share
Wednesday, May 5, 2021The Fairview Review
Thursday, May 6, 2021icefairy’s Treasure Chest
Friday, May 7, 2021J.R.s Book Reviews
Saturday, May 8, 2021Heart to Heart

GIVEAWAY

Enter for a chance to win a hardcover copy of Maybe Maybe Marisol Rainey!

Ten (10) winners receive:

  • A hardcover copy of Maybe Maybe Marisol Rainey

The giveaway begins April 26, 2021, at 12:01 A.M. MT and ends May 26, 2021, at 11:59 P.M. MT.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

4 Comments

  1. This looks like a book my granddaughters would like to read!

    1. Author

      I’m sure they would love it!

  2. I would like to win this for my niece.

  3. I would like to win this book for my granddaughters. I know they would enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *